The Steel Manufacturers Association’s Safety Committee met in Memphis, TN April 12-13, 2018 for our annual spring meeting. We had great attendance, discussion and a fantastic tour of Nucor Steel Memphis. Our next committee meeting will be in Charleston, SC on September 18-19, 2018.

Additionally, SMA presented the 2017 Zero Lost Time Accident (LTA) Awards to the following SMA member facilities:

  • Alta Steel
  • Charter Steel – Fostoria
  • CMC Arkansas
  • Gerdau Cambridge
  • Gerdau Duluth Ball Grinding Mill
  • Gerdau Metals Recycling
  • Gerdau Jackson
  • Gerdau Petersburg
  • Gerdau Whitby
  • North Star BlueScope Steel
  • Nucor Steel Texas
  • Nucor Steel Birmingham
  • Steel Dynamics Columbus Flat Roll Division
  • Steel Dynamics Pittsburgh The Techs Division
  • Steel Dynamics Roanoke Bar Division
  • Steel Dynamics Structural and Rail Division
  • W. Silver, Inc.

2017 Zero LTA Award Recipients

SMA Safety Committee & Associates at work

SMA Safety Committee Chairwoman, Kristin Malosh from Vallourec Star leads small breakout discussion during 2018 spring meeting

Mark D. Millett, President & CEO of Steel Dynamics, Inc gives keynote address at spring safety meeting